Yoga for Beginners

Hello Yoga aspirants, if you are here to understand how to start your yoga journey and What postures to do. Then you are reading the right blog. At our yoga school, we believe in keeping things not attractive but authentic.

So, before you find out which asanas to do. Let’s understand the real reason to do yoga. Each individual may have their own reason such as looking better, improving their posture, or curing a disease they are currently facing, however, the real reason to do yoga is to know your real self and be “one” with the source creation, hence the meaning of union is bestowed to the word “yoga”.

What is Yoga?

Yogic practices are something to be done on a daily basis and yoga (union is something that just happens. Whatever your reason may be to start yoga, it will lead you to the right place, you do not have to worry about the outcome, just follow the right practices and it will keep revealing your true self to you. So without any further ado, let us help you with some basic understanding of yoga.

As we just discovered yoga is what helps us realize our true selves, and keep us fulfilled by revealing our connection to the source of creation and healthy living, a fit body and glowing skin are just a few of the many side effects of yoga.

What are the different paths of Yoga?

Hatha Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga

Karma Yoga

Dhyana Yoga

Bhakti Yoga

Raja Yoga

Understanding these paths of yoga requires one to begin their practice to eventually get the realization of what these paths are or find a competent yoga teacher or guru to learn more about these paths as merely reading about them can be misleading.

For now, let’s just stick to the practices that you begin doing on your own.

Beginner Yoga Asana Practice

A beginner’s body movement or asana practice starts with understanding the limitation and restrictions of their own body. However, you can begin your yoga with the improvement of the joint’s range of motion. Pawan muktasana series 1,2 and 3 are real magic when it comes to body-opening yoga asanas.


A Youtube Channel That Can Help Your Practice: Yoga with Adriene

General Guidelines


The practices may be performed in three ways:

  1. Yoga beginners can start with awareness of the actual physical movement, the interaction between the various components of the body, i.e. bones, joints, ligaments, muscles, etc.; the movement in relation to other parts of the body; with mental counting of each completed round; and with awareness of thoughts arising in mind. This method of practice induces peace, balance, and one-pointedness, which in turn brings about harmony in the physical body.
  2. Asanas should be done with awareness and integrated breathing. In addition to the awareness of physical movement described above, individual movements are synchronized with the breath. The movements become slower, which in turn slows the brain waves, further enhancing relaxation and awareness. This method of practice has a greater influence at the physical and pranic levels and is especially useful for harmonizing and revitalizing the body and improving the function of the internal organs.
  3. Do your practice with the awareness of the movement of the prana. Prana may be experienced as a tingling sensation in the body to which one becomes sensitized with practice. Mentally, one may feel light, yet one-pointed, emotionally fresh, and receptive.
Pawanmukta Series-1

This group of asanas is concerned with releasing tension from the joints of the body. It is excellent for those debilitated by rheumatism, arthritis, high blood pressure, heart problems, or other ailments where vigorous physical exercise is not advised. It is particularly useful for eliminating energy blockages in the joints of the physical body, and for improving coordination, self-awareness, and self-confidence.

Prarambhik Sthiti (base position)

Practice 1: Padanguli Naman (toe bending)

Practice 2: Goolf Naman (ankle bending) Practice 3: Goolf Chakra (ankle rotation)

Practice 4: Goolf Ghoornan (ankle crank) Practice 5: Janufalak Akarshan (kneecap contraction)

Practice 6: Janu Naman (knee bending)

Practice 7: Janu Chakra (knee crank)

Practice 8: Ardha Titali Asana (half-butterfly)

Practice 9: Shroni Chakra (hip rotation) Practice 10: Poorna Titali Asana (full butterfly) Practice 11: Mushtika Bandhana (hand clenching)

Practice 12: Manibandha Naman (wrist bending)

Practice 13: Manibandha Chakra (wrist joint rotation)

Practice 14: Kehuni Naman (elbow bending)

Practice 15: Kehuni Chakra (elbow rotation) Practice 16: Skandha Chakra (shoulder socket rotation)

Practice 17: Greeva Sanchalana (neck movements)


This group of asanas is concerned specifically with strengthening the digestive system. It is excellent for people with indigestion, constipation, acidity, excess wind or gas, lack of appetite, diabetes, disorders of the male or female reproductive systems, and varicose veins. It also eliminates energy blockages in the abdominal area.

Practice 1: Padotthanasana (raised legs pose)

Practice 2: Padachakrasana (leg rotation)

Practice 3: Pada Sanchalanasana (cycling)

Practice 4: Supta Pawanmuktasana (leg lock pose)

Practice 5: Jhulana Lurhakanasana (rocking and rolling)

Practice 6: Supta Udarakarshanasana (sleeping abdominal stretch pose)

Practice 7: Shava Udarakarshanasana (universal spinal twist)

Practice 8: Naukasana (boat pose)


This group of asanas is concerned with improving the energy flow within the body and breaking down neuro-muscular knots. They also eliminate energy blockages in the spine, activate the lungs and heart, and improve endocrine function.

The series is useful for those with reduced vitality and a stiff back and is especially useful for menstrual problems and toning the pelvic organs and muscles. It can be practiced after pregnancy for re-toning flaccid muscles. The shakti bandha series may be started straight away if good health and fitness prevail. However, if there are any serious ailments, a therapist should be consulted.

Practice 1: Rajju Karshanasana (pulling the rope)

Practice 2: Gatyatmak Meru Vakrasana (dynamic spinal twist)

Practice 3: Chakki Chalanasana (churning the mill)

Practice 4: Nauka Sanchalanasana (rowing the boat)

Practice 5: Kashtha Takshanasana (chopping wood)

Practice 6: Namaskarasana (salutation pose)

Practice 7: Vayu Nishkasana (wind-releasing pose)

Practice 8: Kauva Chalasana (crow walking)

Practice 9: Udarakarshanasana (abdominal stretch pose)

You can mix the asanas from all three series or do them sequentially, we leave them to your discretion. However, you can add a hatha yoga surya namaskar to each of these series to measure the improvement in your posture. The 12 Steps of hatha yoga surya namaskar alone is considered a great impacter in the journey of asana.

Once you have opened up your limbs and joints, you can go for other yoga asana practices such as back bending postures, balancing postures, and many others. However, for beginner asana practice it is advisable to strengthen the base by practicing the Pawan Muktasna series mentioned above.

Want to become a yoga instructor? Rishikesh Yogshala offers 200 hour yoga teacher training in Rishikesh, 300 hour yoga teacher training in Rishikesh and 500 hour yoga teacher training in Rishikesh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.